EYFS – Statutory Framework

EYFS Statutory Framework

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage
Setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five
This framework is mandatory for all early years providers from 1 September 2014, Click on the text above to see the full detailed document.

Click on this text to access EYFS documents from DfE Policy.
Development Matters can be accessed from Early Education Site
Click here for the Know How Guide EYFS progress check at age two
Click here to access The Early Years Outcomes document

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.
The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The EYFS seeks to provide:
quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;
a secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;
partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.

The EYFS specifies requirements for learning and development and for safeguarding children and promoting their welfare.
The learning and development requirements cover:
the areas of learning and development which must shape activities and experiences (educational programmes) for children in all early years settings;
the early learning goals that providers must help children work towards (the knowledge, skills and understanding children should have at the end of the academic year in which they turn five);
and assessment arrangements for measuring progress (and requirements for reporting to parents and/or carers).

The Safeguarding and welfare requirements cover the steps that providers must take to keep children safe and promote their welfare.
Overarching principles
Four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings. These are:
every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers;
and children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • October 2019
    M T W T F S S